Materials for Nuclear Power Group

138 Reber Building
University Park, PA 16802

(814) 865-0036

Professor Motta Wins Prestigious Kroll Medal


Kroll Medal Awarded for Outstanding Achievement in Zirconium Research

On May 18th Professor Motta was awarded the 2014 Kroll Medal for outstanding achievement in the scientific aspects of zirconium utilization. He was presented the award at the 18th International Symposium on Zirconium in the Nuclear Industry along with the 2013 Kroll Medal Winner Dr. Allan Rogerson and the 2015 Kroll Medal winner, current Commissioner of the Nuclear Regulatory Agency of Japan, Dr. Toyoshi Fuketa. Prof. Motta was recognized for his many years of research and contribution to the understanding of zirconium alloy behavior in nuclear reactor environments, with particular emphasis on effects of irradiation, corrosion, and hydriding. In addition to being awarded the Kroll Medal, Prof. Motta gave a presentation on "Mechanistic Understanding of Zirconium Alloy Fuel Cladding Performance". The Kroll Medal, first awarded to Admiral Hyman G. Rickover in 1975 was established to recognize outstanding achievement in the scientific, technological, or commercial aspects of zirconium production and utilization, and to encourage future efforts, studies, and research. Congratulations Professor Motta!