PSMES Board and Elections

Organization and Board

The PSMES board of directors is made up of elected officers, six to nine at large members, the MNE department head, and a mechanical engineering faculty member. To become a board member, contact the PSMES president for more information. The Board meets by teleconference quarterly and holds at least one on-site meeting per year at Penn State.

Current Board of Directors - Alumni Members
Position Name/E-mail Committee(s)
Jim Roche
Early Career Award
VP/President Elect
VP until 2019
President: 2019-2021
Kyle Verrinder President Elect, Networking
Chris Melville Social activities, Student Engagement, Early Career Award
Past President
Amos Morse
at-large Board of Directors
until 2018
Mimi Overbaugh Social Activities, Student Engagement
at-large Board of Directors
until 2017
Leland Engel Social Activities
Justin Latorre Alumni Recognition
Rich Randall Mentoring

Bob Swope


Shaun Verrinder

E-Knowledge Commons, PSMES Website

Join PSMES Alumni Stories Become a mentor

Related Links

Who to Contact

  • Jime Roche
    PSMES President President
  • Dr. Karen A. Thole
    Head of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering
  • Kelly Caviston
    Alumni Communications Coordinator and Budget Assistant
Make a gift
Senior Recognition Banquet


The Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering at Penn State is one of the nation’s largest and most successful engineering departments. We serve more than 1,000 undergraduate students and more than 330 graduate students

We offer B.S. degrees in mechanical engineering and nuclear engineering as well as resident (M.S., Ph.D.) and online (M.S., M.Eng.) graduate degrees in nuclear engineering and mechanical engineering. MNE's strength is in offering hands-on experience in highly relevant research areas, such as energy, homeland security, biomedical devices, and transportation systems.

Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering

137 Reber Building

The Pennsylvania State University

University Park, PA 16802-4400

Phone: 814-865-2519