PSNES Board and Elections

Organization and Board

The PSNES board of directors is made up elected officer positions, six to nine at large members, the chair of the nuclear engineering program, a nuclear engineering faculty member, and the director of the Radiation Science and Engineering Center. To become a board member, contact the PSNES president for more information. The Board meets by teleconference quarterly and holds at least one on-site meeting per year at Penn State.

Current Board of Directors – Alumni Members
Position Name/Email Committee(s)
President Douglas Wood
Board Operations, Nominating Committee, Constitution Committee, PSNES – PSEAS Liaison, Mentor
Vice President/President-Elect Vacant  

Hilary Ruby (Neal)

Board Operations, PSNES Linked-In Group Administrator, NucE Student Orientation, Mentor

Past President Rick Etling Constitution Committee
At-large Directors John Atchison
Awards Committee, Mentor
Eric Beaumont
Matt Ellis
Board meeting participation
Duane Karchner
NucE Student Orientation, Mentor
Michael Pantano
Board Meeting participation
Matt Wargon Board Meeting participation, Awards Committee
Jim Tusar
Award Committee, Breazeale Reactor Safeguards Committee, NucE Student Orientation, Mentor, PSNES-PSU WIN Liaison
Jeremy Barnhart
Board Meeting Participation
Hamilton Gubanc
Board Meeting Participation
PSNES APG representative to PSEAS Board -Pat Loftus and Doug Wood

2018 Elections

In accordance with the PSNES Constitution, below is the slate of candidates recommended by the Board of Directors. During the period April 19, 2018 – May 19, 2018, PSNES members may self-nominate for any of the following positions by contacting the PSNES Secretary (

2018 PSNES Board Elections – Call for Board Self-Nominations
Board Position Candidate Elected Term
President Hilary Neal 2018-2020
Vice President Jason Beebe 2018-2020
Secretary/Treasurer Tyler Cousins 2018-2020
At-large Director John Atchison 2018-2022
Jennifer Butler 2018-2022
Duane Karchner 2018-2022
Mara Levy 2018-2022
Michael Pantano 2018-2022

The following current At-Large Directors remain on the Board through 2020: Jeremy Barnhart, Matthew Ellis, James Tusar, Matt Wargon

Make a gift
Senior Recognition Banquet


The Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering at Penn State is one of the nation’s largest and most successful engineering departments. We serve more than 1,000 undergraduate students and more than 330 graduate students

We offer B.S. degrees in mechanical engineering and nuclear engineering as well as resident (M.S., Ph.D.) and online (M.S., M.Eng.) graduate degrees in nuclear engineering and mechanical engineering. MNE's strength is in offering hands-on experience in highly relevant research areas, such as energy, homeland security, biomedical devices, and transportation systems.

Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering

137 Reber Building

The Pennsylvania State University

University Park, PA 16802-4400

Phone: 814-865-2519